Page 1 of 1

CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2020 7:33 am
by peff
Hi,
first of all a praise for the ingenious program, the only thing that can add a timestamp to the data string.
And then also in different formats.

but I have a problem with the recording.
After each data string I get a blank line.
I have this only in the recording.
I have looked through all the settings, but found no setting to change this.

Any tips?

Stefan

Re: CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2020 7:52 pm
by roger
Hi Stefan,

a couple of questions:
- what does your data string look like? Is it terminated by CR, LF, or both?
- what are your "Capture File Options"?
- Do you have "Wait for termination string" and "retain termination string" enabled?

Re: CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2020 12:50 am
by peff
Hi, Roger,

thanks for the quick response.
I figured it out myself last night.
My string ends with CR LF and then a question mark.
Don't know why that is...
I had first entered the question mark (3F) as termination.
I changed this to 0D 0A 3F and it works perfectly :-)

maybe another question... is it possible to start your tool as a service?

Greetings
Stefan

Re: CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2020 12:50 am
by peff
Hi, Roger,

thanks for the quick response.
I figured it out myself last night.
My string ends with CR LF and then a question mark.
Don't know why that is...
I had first entered the question mark (3F) as termination.
I changed this to 0D 0A 3F and it works perfectly :-)

maybe another question... is it possible to start your tool as a service?

Greetings
Stefan

Re: CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2020 1:30 pm
by roger
peff wrote:I figured it out myself last night.

Great! I'm glad you got it working.
peff wrote:maybe another question... is it possible to start your tool as a service?

No, you can't start it as a service, but it's possible to configure CoolTerm such that it will automatically open the serial port and automatically starts capturing to a file when it starts up. Then you can make CoolTerm a start up item when your Computer starts.

Here is how to adjust your connection settings to achieve this:
  • Miscellaneous / Misc. Options:
    • Turn on "Automatically connect on open"
  • Receive / Capture File Options:
    • Enable "Autostart on open"
    • Set the location where you want your capture file to be stored
    • If you would like for CoolTerm to always append new data to the same file, even between system restarts, enable "Append to auto capture file" and enter the filename you want.

You then need to configure your computer startup settings such that CoolTerm starts with these settings when the computer starts. Depending on your OS you can put the settings you just saved into the startup items and that will take care of it (I think Windows works that way). You can also start CoolTerm from a script by using the file path to your settings as an argument (more information about this in the built-in help).

I hope this makes sense. Let me know if you have any additional, questions.

Roger

Re: CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 12:28 am
by peff
Hi Roger,
thank you for the information about all the settings, but I had already found them all.
Your tool is very clearly structured and perfect for data logging.
It was just hard to find. Maybe add some keywords like serial port monitor, RS232, Data Logger.

Now I finally have the possibility to log the water level in my 200 year old fountain to find out how much water enters and how fast.

Here in Germany, it is now the third year of drought...
No drop in April and May until now only 4mm.

Best Regards
Stefan Meier

Re: CoolTerm empty lines in capture file

PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2020 1:38 am
by roger
Cool! I'm glad you find it useful.

We've been having some very dry years here in California as well, and it only seems to be getting worse ever year :( .

Roger


PS: Great last name! :D